Rewards for Recycling

I like recycling. It hurts my heart to think of all the waste we produce, where it goes to, how it’s taking over the planet. I try to do my bit and aim to do more but for now, I’d like to share one thing that I do that could probably encourage you guys to do the same.

There’s this machine we have here in Dubai called ReVa that was initiated by Averda, a recycling company. This machine basically rewards you for dropping your recyclables (plastic bottles and cans) with points collected through Air Miles, which is absolutely cool!

We’re only 3 in my team but we go through approximately 20 small bottles a week. For every recyclable item, you get 2 air mile points. Et voila!

IMG_0052

2 medium-sized bags with 20 small bottles each.

IMG_0060

The attractive ReVa machine right next to my office (how convenient).

IMG_0061

The receipt with the serial number.

I mean I know it’s going to take forever to get something super valuable out of these points but I think it makes for a huge incentive.

So yay recycling!

Leave a Reply

